5 Color Texture Patterned Square

5 Color Texture Patterned Square

I have to admit to everyone that this pattern came from a Jo Sharp Workshop that my local knit shop had a year ago. It was wonderful to meet Jo Sharp. She signed a couple of books and we were able to hear her story. She has wonderful patterns. I have made several sweaters by her. I’ll try to post those at some point. Anyway here is the pattern. Any DK yarn will work. I used scraps left over from other projects. See photos. My colors were just random but all colors that I love. You will need 5 different DK yarns. I used a couple of tweeds and some alpaca that I had but any combination you love would work. (A DK Mohair would be fun to add in too!)
Multiple of 4 + 2

Row 1 (RS) K2, *p2, k2; rep from * to end

Row 2 (WS) P2, keeping yarn at front of work, slip 2 purlwise, p2; rep from * to end

Repeat these 2 rows throughout

Size 6 Needle or size needed to obtain 7″ square

*Texture Patterned Square for Gracious Parcels

Using Color A, Cast on 42 sts and work in texture pattern as above in the following color sequence;

Rows 1-4 Col B

Rows 5-8 Col C

Rows 9 & 10 Col D

Row 11 & 12 Col E

Row 13 Col B

Rows 14-16 Col E

Rows 17 & 18 Col A

Repeat sequence until you have a 7″ square. I blocked my square in the end. I like the look but it isn’t necessary.

I hope you will try this pattern. It is very simple and gives the illusion of fair isle or at least I think it does.

Happy Knitting!

annabelle2

3 Responses to “5 Color Texture Patterned Square”

  1. knitizenkane Says:

    This is a really nice square! Thanks so much for sharing the pattern!

  2. ann Says:

    I forgot how much I loved this pattern. Are you still collecting? I know with all your projects you probably haven’t had the time.

  3. Joyce Boles Says:

    Wow!


Leave a Reply

